Special Nonexistent Furniture
877-WAYFAIR (877-929-3247)| SKU #: SNS1109

Swing-n-Slide Chesapeake Wood Complete Swing Set | Reviews

Average Overall Rating:
(based on 22 reviews)
 
3.8 

Clear All
5 star
5
4 star
12
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
2
0 star
0
Make it Yours:
Total Price:
$1,159.40

List Price:
$1,228.00
You Save:

$68.60 (6%)

Free Shipping on orders over $49.00

Ships by Tue (8/5)

30+ in Stock

Select Options Below:

Qty:

07/06/2014
5.0

mom of 5

 from New London, NH– Verified Buyer

We had been looking for a swing set for a while and my husband stumbled upon this one, it seemed to be a great price for what was included. My husband was able to assemble most of it in one day! The kids are loving playing on it!

Was this helpful? Yes / No
02/08/2014
5.0

Great!

 from Apopka, FL– Verified Buyer

This was a Christmas present for our kids so we had to build it at night. It took about 24 hours total for my husband and I with a couple flood lights. The monkey bars are definitely the most difficult part! I'd advise you to read all the directions and unpack (and sort) all the wood before you start!
The kids love it and are always playing on it

Was this helpful? Yes / No
08/05/2013
3.0

nice swingset

 from Pottstown, PA– Verified Buyer

looks good, but some of the lumber chipped. just hope they made a better type of wood. 34 done in one day. my daughter loves it!

Was this helpful? Yes / No
05/31/2011
3.0

Chesapeake Swingset- pretty good

 from nj

We had 3 men come to build this thing, took them 2 full days. The slide is flimsy. We had our 12yr old nephew do the monkey bars and the whole thing shook. Our 2 kids, age 7 and 6 are ok on it. But when we used it for a birthday party, I thought it was going to break apart and collapse. I would not recommend it for groups of kids or heavy kids. I would not buy this set again. I'd pay double and get a good, heavy, sturdy set or consider a metal set. We will put a sealant on it to try to preserve the wood but never again!

Was this helpful? Yes / No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
04/17/2011
4.0

Well made, instructions could be better

 from Georgia– Verified Buyer

Well made and good/solid quality. Just hope wood holds up. Plan on spraying with deck sealer later. Took 1 1/2 days to put together. Will need at least 2 people some times during construction. Ended up with several screws/lag screws and boards at end. Then realized 2 large lag screws should have been installed where it appeared only 1 - instructions were not clear. Suggest calling co. if any questions. Part numbers on the wood pieces are not same as in instructions so will need to measure/sort before starting assembly to make sure you use the correct parts.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
04/17/2011
4.0

great swingset

 from MD– Verified Buyer– Top 500 Reviewer

We bought this for our 2 year old twins. It's still a little mature for them because they can't get up the ladder rungs or the rock climbing wall themselves yet, but they love it otherwise. We did modify the angle of the rock climbing wall a little because it was just too vertical, so we had to buy some extra rocks for it. I do love that Swing N Slide has so many extra accessories that you can purchase to add on to the swingset. We still haven't done the monkey bars part because it's going to be a while before our kids can use that. I think overall it was a pretty easy put-together, taking my husband and father in law most of one day and then we did the finishing touches the next morning. This set it nice because it has so many features in one swingset. The picnic table is great for little kids, and the whole thing is very sturdy.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
03/25/2011
4.0

PRE DRILL HOLES

 from Metairie, LA

The overall quality of the swing is good. Would be greatly improved with pre-drilled holes. It says this is not necessary, but I found a lot of boards starting to crack, regardless of the drill speed (slower was less likely to crack the boards). The manufacturer was very helpful in supplying missing/damaged parts.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
01/04/2011
4.0

Better Than I Expected But Not Perfect

 from Charlotte, NC

Most helpful act was to take the time to separate and identify all of the pieces ahead of time, and please don't take my "man-card", but to read the instructions.

It was below freezing outside so I assembled as much as I could in the garage before braving the weather. The main structure was lighter than I expected which helped me out for this, but now I will need to anchor it down better than I expected to have to.

Issues/Criticism:

1. "Self-Tapping" screws - I was skeptic from the start so I pre-drilled everything as I started construction. Started running close on time for when it HAD to be done so I stopped pre-drilling and 3 out of the first 8 boards all split..... stick with common sense and pre-drill.

2. Slide Mount - granted it was below freezing when I was setting this up outside so the slide wasn't feeling so flexible, it ripped out the mount screws immediately. I used a 2X4 and "modified" the mount a little to gain a better angle. Without proper tools this could have been a real pain.

3. Materials - Was one board short of the longer length 1X4s but had several extra of the shorter ones. Easily replaced the board but it does not color match. Honestly I haven't even tried to contact them for a replacement, but I do not doubt that they would make it right.

Pros - Easy Assembly (not quite "build and play in one day" as advertised, but still better than expected)

Cons - The swing area. If the kids do not swing perfectly straight they will hit either the support legs or main structure. I removed the handle/trapeze bar and repositioned the inner swing chains to its mounts and it greatly helped. I plan on replacing the beam with a longer one, but I really shouldn't have to.... poor design.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
12/22/2010
5.0

My kids love this sturdy swing set!

 from Fort Myers, FL

This swing set is very sturdy. We were looking for something that our 3 kids could enjoy after they outgrew our old set. They are 10, 7, and 5, and I feel like it is very safe for all three to enjoy together. It is taller than some other price-equivalent models, so it has a "treehouse" effect.

The wood is soft, and so we will likely add a clear stain to preserve it against our FL weather elements

Was this helpful? Yes / No
05/02/2010
4.0

I would buy this again

 from Burlington, Vermont– Verified Buyer

This swingset is everything we could ask for;but thank goodness we contracted a handyman to assemble it for us! It took him and his fellow handyman 11 hours to complete!! These guys build for a living! I was glad we had budgeted to pay someone; but i thought maybe 4 hours tops!!

Was this helpful? Yes / No
04/06/2010
3.0

for for little kids

 from California– Verified Buyer

Great for little kids. bought it a few yrs too late for my 9 yr old. It is time consuming to put together and can be unsturdy if not put in ground well. little rickety for my 9 yr old daughter, but 4 yr old loves it.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
01/25/2010
4.0

Good set, have extra hands for assembly

 from Charlotte, NC– Verified Buyer

Our two-year-old son and his three- and six-year-old pals enjoy this. He'll grow into the monkey bars, but already likes the rock wall, swings, trapeze and slide. During assembly, you must be careful not to sink the screws too far or you run the risk of splitting the soft wood. We easily adjusted the plans to move the monkey bars to the end of the tower instead of the back, resulting in a linear playset instead of an L-shape, to better fit where we wanted it to go. It took a good deal longer to assemble than we expected, even with extra hands enlisted, but that may be because three of us workers are engineers :). We've had it for just a few months, so can't comment yet on durability or weathering, but it strikes us as being decently well-made; it will probably require periodic painting since it's surface-stained wood rather than treated lumber, but we knew that when we bought it and would make the same choice again.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
10/24/2009
5.0

Really liked this Playset

 from Ocala, FL– Verified Buyer

This was a great swing set. It took me longer than 8 hours to do it but I did it mainly myself with the help of my wife. If you need any other part the manufacture is great about getting them to you incase you lose a bolt or two.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
10/05/2009
4.0

[...]

 from Carlyle, Saskatchewan Canada– Verified Buyer

We were missing 3 board but were able to get them from our local lumber yard [...]

Was this helpful? Yes / No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
10/02/2009
4.0

My Daughter LOVES it

 from Mentor, OH– Verified Buyer

Make sure you lay out and measure all the lumber ahead of time, it will save a lot of time later.The set has a bit more movement, when kids are swinging, than I like. I don't think it will last more than a couple of years...but hopefully I'm wrong.This company was great to buy from.[...]

Was this helpful? Yes / No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
09/14/2009
1.0

Not worth it.

 from Hartford County, Connecticut– Verified Buyer

* Nothing comes labeled... and nothing is the 'correct' size. They are close enought that they work, but I found that to be a sign of a company that is more concerned about quantity not quality.
* The boards were splitting just by screwing them together... NOT SAFE!
* Now that my 9yr old son has been playing on it for a month, I've seen cracks appear in the frame work that go nearly the entire length of the beams. I am afraid to have him play on it at all now. It is only a month old!
* You have to weedwack around the beams, obviously, but we have very week threading on our weedwacker and it has taken out small chunks in the wood of the beams!
* I would not reccomend this set or anyother set by this manufacturer. Clearly they do not have the quality parts that they claim and I do not feel it is safe for children of any age.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
07/20/2009
5.0

Excellent Value!!!

 from Highlands Ranch, CO– Verified Buyer

We have just finished building this swing set. It is an excellent value for the money. I looked EVERY WHERE and there is not one that had all these bells and whistles with this quality for this cost. The brackets make the structure much stronger and easier to put together! I could go on and on about how sturdy it is, the great quality of the wood it came with, the excellent quality of the swings and monkey bars. How great it looks with the fort and the little window. My daughter and all her friends just love it! It is so sturdy I do not worry when she has many friends on it at once.

Just a few notes to mention:

1) It cannot be built in 4-6 hours, I had two people one a professional carpenter and the other an extremely experienced carpenter build it and it took 3 days. Now they are excellent and detail oriented and it is built really well with every little detail but it could not have been built faster except maybe for an hour or two.

2) The washers on the picnic table snag little legs so replace the washers ASAP.

3) The directions where horrible, they were written by someone sitting in an office not in a yard trying to build this so make sure you have someone who is really good with building.

4) Our set did not come with the DVD, we did not call the 1-800 number since we were already in the inventory of all items process when we realized it was not buried under something or stuck into a box so that was disappointing. Look for yours early but not sure, how you could when you have huge boxed of wood and you will not want to opne it all until you start???

Was this helpful? Yes / No
07/04/2009
4.0

Nice set, but assembly directions stink!

 from Andover, MN– Verified Buyer

This is a nice set when assembly is complete, but getting to the finished product is a challenge. The Assembly Manual is horrible - numerous mistakes, poor drawings and ambiguous instructions. Besides missing 2 small support brackets, kit did include everything needed for assembly. In fact, you will have quite a bit of extra lumber and hardware. Strongly recommend that you take time to organize all hardware and lumber before you begin assembly - this will save much time and frustration later. Lumber was rather soft and split easily - take care when drilling, and drill away from edges as much as possible.

Now that the set is assembled, I am satisfied with the product - our 3-year-old loves it, and it appears to be sturdy enough to last for years. Time will tell on that, however!

Was this helpful? Yes / No
06/18/2009
4.0

Great swing set

 from NC– Verified Buyer

The picnic table could be better designed, it won't stand for a lot weight. Other than that it is a great swing set for a great price.

Was this helpful? Yes / No
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
01/11/2013
4.0

 from Florida

Was this helpful? Yes / No

ServerT:0.77259206771851